About BELvue - Mission

BELvue museum:About BELvue

2021 05 25 FRB workshop 18

Located in the heart of Brussels, the BELvue is more than a museum about Belgium and its history. As a centre for democracy, the BELvue wants to develop a historical awareness. It is a place to experience history and democracy. We encourage critical reflections on the great importance of and commitment to democracy, and so contribute to improving trust in democratic values. The BELvue is managed by the King Baudouin Foundation.

71770088 2500181376718069 4176130855204290560 n

Museum about Belgium

The modern and interactive display in our permanent exhibition will give you a better insight into Belgium and our society. The approach is thematic. Seven rooms revolve around seven social themes: democracy, prosperity, solidarity, pluralism, migration, language and Europe. How did Belgium come about? And what makes a Belgian? We bring history to life in sound and vision, and combine it with a contemporary perspective. In our temporary exhibitions, too, we always make a link with the country’s history, heritage or current events.

In the BELvue, history is not an end in itself, but a means of understanding our society.

20190223 Belvue Museum Night Fever 165 2967 MR

Surprising Belgian objects

In our gallery, more than 200 objects bring the Belgium of yesterday and today to life. With their chronological arrangement, which starts in the nineteenth century, they form a material memory of our country. It’s an extremely varied collection of everyday utensils, works of art, design pieces, well-known brands, scientific inventions, references to top sporting achievements and objects from Belgian’s rich folk culture.

David plas 40543

Centre for democracy

The BELvue wants to be a place of meetings and exchanges around democracy and all kinds of related themes. It is not without reason that the museum is located in Brussels, the capital of Belgium and Europe, next to the Royal Palace and close to the country’s major institutions.

As part of our educational service, seconded teachers and education specialists develop all kinds of activities – exhibitions, workshops, guided tours and lectures – about topics such as democracy, history and justice. These activities are aimed at the diverse audience that the BELvue welcomes through its doors, including schools, (future) teachers, youth associations, families, older people and people with disabilities. The BELvue aims to be there for everyone, so all activities are free or offered at a very affordable price.

Activiteitenverslag 2021

A project by the King Baudouin Foundation

Managed by the King Baudouin Foundation, the BELvue was created as a place where visitors, and especially young people, can learn about and better understand Belgium, its history, its socio-economic development and the workings of its institutions. Employing a theme-based approach and with a modern, interactive exhibition layout, the museum offers visitors the keys to understanding Belgium and Belgian society.

Restaurant

Les [email protected]: organic, local gourmet restaurant

Shop

Come and buy nice Belgian gadgets, or the varied offer connected with our temporary exhibitions. You don’t even need a ticket!

20190223 Belvue Museum Night Fever 159 2951 MR

Plan your visit

On your own or with a whole school? Less mobile? On foot, by metro or by car? We have set out everything for you.
1 c Jasmine Van Hevel HR aangepast

Did you know?

Like to know more about the history of Belgium and Brussels? Discover our affordable combi ticket for BELvue and the Coudenberg Palace!

Birthday @Museum

Celebrating your birthday at BELVUE means playing, learning and fun. You're sure to have an unforgettable afternoon with a delicious snack!

Accessibility

The BELVue is accessible to all. Discover all about our customised tours, discounts, free entry on Wednesday afternoons and more.

Educational service

A workshop on politics? A hands-on exhibition about democracy? A pedagogical dossier about our colonial past? Check out our offer!

Mission

:À propos du BELvue

2021 05 25 FRB workshop 18

Situé au cœur de Bruxelles, le BELvue est bien plus qu’un musée de la Belgique et de son histoire. Le BELvue souhaite aussi, en tant que centre pour la démocratie, favoriser le développement d’une conscience historique. C’est un lieu où vivre l’histoire et la démocratie. Nous souhaitons stimuler la réflexion critique sur l’importance et les enjeux de la démocratie, et contribuer ainsi à améliorer la confiance dans les valeurs démocratiques. Le BELvue est géré par la Fondation Roi Baudouin.

71770088 2500181376718069 4176130855204290560 n

Musée de la Belgique

Notre collection permanente, organisée selon une scénographie moderne et interactive, vous permet de mieux connaître et comprendre la Belgique et notre société. L’approche est thématique : sept thèmes de société sont développés dans sept salles : démocratie, prospérité, solidarité, migrations, langues et Europe. Comment la Belgique a‑t-elle vu le jour ? C’est quoi, être belge ? Nous mettons l’histoire en son et en image, tout en adoptant un point de vue actuel. Dans nos expositions temporaires aussi, nous faisons toujours le lien avec l’histoire, le patrimoine et l’actualité de la Belgique. Au BELvue, l’histoire n’est pas un but en soi, mais un moyen de comprendre notre société.

20190223 Belvue Museum Night Fever 165 2967 MR

Surprenants objets belges

Dans notre galerie, plus de 200 objets font revivre la Belgique d’hier et d’aujourd’hui. Présentés par ordre chronologique en partant du XIXe siècle, ils sont la mémoire matérielle de notre pays. Objets d’usage courant, objets d’art ou de design, marques célèbres, découvertes scientifiques, références à des exploits sportifs ou éléments de notre riche culture populaire, ils composent une collection bariolée.

David plas 40543

Centre pour la démocratie

Le BELvue se veut un lieu de rencontres et d’échanges autour de la démocratie et de sujets connexes. Ce n’est pas pour rien que le musée se situe à Bruxelles, capitale de la Belgique et de l’Europe, à côté du Palais Royal et non loin des grandes institutions du pays.

Au sein de notre service éducatif, des enseignant·es et pédagogues détaché·es développent les activités les plus diverses : expositions, workshops, visites guidées, conférences, toutes sur des thématiques tournant autour de la démocratie, l’histoire et la justice. Ces activités s’adresse au public diversifié qu’accueille le BELvue : écoles, (futur·es) enseignant·es, associations de jeunes, familles, seniors, personnes avec un handicap… Le BELvue se veut ouvert à tous·tes. C’est pourquoi toutes les activités sont gratuites ou proposées à un prix très abordable.

Activiteitenverslag 2021 NL Page 001 Image 0002

Un projet de la Fondation Roi Baudouin

Géré par la Fondation Roi Baudouin, le BELvue a été créé comme un lieu où les visiteurs, et plus particulièrement les jeunes, peuvent découvrir et mieux comprendre la Belgique, son histoire, son développement socio-économique, et son fonctionnement institutionnel. Avec une approche thématique et une scénographie moderne et interactive,le musée propose au visiteur des clés pour comprendre la Belgique et notre société.

Place des Palais, 7
1000 Bruxelles
+32 2 500 45 54

Restaurant

Les [email protected] : resto bio, local et gourmand

Boutique

N’hésitez pas à passer la porte de notre boutique d’articles « belges » ou liés à nos expos temporaires. Pas besoin de ticket d’entrée !

20190223 Belvue Museum Night Fever 159 2951 MR

Planifiez votre visite

Vous venez seul·e ? Avec toute une école ? À pied ? En métro ? En voiture ? Votre mobilité est réduite ? Voici tout ce que vous devez savoir.
1 c Jasmine Van Hevel HR aangepast

Le saviez-vous ?

Envie d’en savoir plus encore sur l’histoire de la Belgique et de Bruxelles ? Profitez de notre ticket combiné BELvue + Palais du Coudenberg !

Anniversaire @musée

Fêter son anniversaire au BELvue, c’est jouer et apprendre en s’amusant. Une après-midi inoubliable couronnée par un délicieux goûter.

Accessibilité

Le BELvue est accessible à tous·tes. Découvrez nos visites guidées sur mesure, nos réductions, l’accès gratuit le mercredi après-midi, ...

Service éducatif

Un workshop sur la politique ? Une expo interactive sur la démocratie ? Un dossier pédagogique sur notre passé colonial ? Découvrez ça et bien plus !